Horspath Cricket Club News story

Custom Script (e.g Ads Script)

Horspath in new Cherwell T20 challenge

13 Feb 2024

Horspath will chase silverware in a new Cherwell League T20 competition this season.
The club have entered the Pullinger T20 Cup for teams from tiers 1 and 2.
Horspath have been handed a bye in the first round which is to take place over the weekend of May 4-5.
And the side will have an extra incentive to progress through the quarter-finals to be played by July 7 with the Recreation Ground chosen to host finals day on Sunday, July 21 when the semi-finals and final will take place.
Horspath will be seeking to add to an impressive record in the shortest format of the game. The club were crowned Oxfordshire T20 champions by lifting the Bernard Tollett Cup in 2013, 2014 and 2018 as well as finishing runners-up in 2017 and for the last two years when the trophy was renamed the Hartwell Senior Cup.
In addition, Horspath captured the Oxfordshire Cricket Board's Wilf Bennett Trophy in 2016 and reached the Home Counties Premier League Finals Day in 2017.
The Pullinger T20 Cup is named after the late Oxfordshire Cricket Association president Tony Pullinger, who was also master of cricket and head of PE at the Dragon School, Oxford for more than 20 years.
Originally an OCA competition, it was first held in 2012 when Garsington were the inaugural winners.
The trophy holders are Witney Swifts, who retained the cup when it was last played for in 2019.
The Pullinger T20 Cup follows the Airey Cup, Telegraph Cup, Steve Dixon Memorial Cup, Osberton Radiators Cup and Keith Crump Memorial Cup in being played under the Cherwell banner after the OCA clubs joined the league in 2021.


1st round (May 4/5): Cropredy v Minster Lovell, Dinton v Aston Rowant 2nd, Great & Little Tew v Banbury 2nd, Oxford Downs 2nd v Tiddington, Witney Swifts v Didcot, Wolverton Town v Westbury. Byes: Cumnor, Horspath.